Alla inlägg den 5 augusti 2008

Av Heqirish - 5 augusti 2008 12:56


The press are now allowed into closed beta and GameSpy are writing about their experience here. I advise you to check it out, it's a great read.

Av Heqirish - 5 augusti 2008 12:12


If I didn't already know how important a game's community is and how it can make or break a game, spoiled as I am by having an awesome guild to play with, I definitely realized it yesterday when I encountered one of the worst ones out there - the community in Warcraft III DoTA. I recalled why I had decided to only play DoTA at LANs a few years ago - it's filled with elitist, rascist jerks throwing hatred at anyone not as "skilled" as them, using programs to determine which country everyone are from and kicking russians and everyone else who doesn't meet their standards.


Even though they didn't flame me personally, I've played my fair share of DoTA after all ;), it got to the point where the game just didn't feel fun anymore. Not everyone are like this of course but there's certainly enough of them.


When they banned my mate, who is a real newbie on DoTA and whom I was trying to learn, I decided that I'd had enough of this and told them to fuck off before I left the game. I'm probably banned now but I couldn't care less.


Now on to some more positive things: GamesRadar had a hands-on preview featuring the PvE dungeons in WAR. Well, PvE and PvE, in WAR rules the line "WAR is everywhere" and it holds true even in (most of) their dungeons which are so called "open-world dungeons" where you possibly could encounter groups of the opposite realm. I don't know how many dungeons are located in the RvR area of the zones but I bet there's quite a few, especially in the higher tiers. That the dungeons are divided into several wings, just like SM, Naxx and the BC dungeons are in WoW, are great news as well.


Often, in other MMOs, the company will spend a lot of time making sure the beginning of the game is wonderful, but the rest of it can sort of peter off. But we haven’t done that with Warhammer. From start to finish, all the way through, we’ve spent the time and resources necessary to make the entire game compelling.


Hmm, AoC anyone? Hope they mean it as well and not just trying to pick on AoC for their own benefit, which they obiously are but I don't mind as long as they do it right themselves. :P


Everything seems to come together now and hopefully we will see a NDA-lift later this week or next which really would show that a release is drawing near.


Tidigare månad - Senare månad

Presentation

Fråga mig

0 besvarade frågor

Kalender

Ti On To Fr
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9
10
11 12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25 26 27 28
29
30 31
<<<
Augusti 2008 >>>

Sök i bloggen

Senaste inläggen

Kategorier

Arkiv

RSS


Ovido - Quiz & Flashcards